40 U.S.C. § 14102 : US Code - Section 14102: Definitions

      (a) Definitions. - In this subtitle - 
        (1) Appalachian region. - The term "Appalachian region" means
      that area of the eastern United States consisting of the
      following counties (including any political subdivision located
      within the area):
          (A) In Alabama, the counties of Bibb, Blount, Calhoun,
        Chambers, Cherokee, Chilton, Clay, Cleburne, Colbert, Coosa,
        Cullman, De Kalb, Elmore, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Hale,
        Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone,
        Macon, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Pickens, Randolph,
        St. Clair, Shelby, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker,
        and Winston.
          (B) In Georgia, the counties of Banks, Barrow, Bartow,
        Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Dade, Dawson, Douglas,
        Elbert, Fannin, Floyd, Forsyth, Franklin, Gilmer, Gordon,
        Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Haralson, Hart, Heard, Jackson,
        Lumpkin, Madison, Murray, Paulding, Pickens, Polk, Rabun,
        Stephens, Towns, Union, Walker, White, and Whitfield.
          (C) In Kentucky, the counties of Adair, Bath, Bell, Boyd,
        Breathitt, Carter, Casey, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland,
        Edmonson, Elliott, Estill, Fleming, Floyd, Garrard, Green,
        Greenup, Harlan, Hart, Jackson, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel,
        Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln, McCreary,
        Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe,
        Montgomery, Morgan, Nicholas, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell,
        Pulaski, Robertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Wayne, Whitley,
        and Wolfe.
          (D) In Maryland, the counties of Allegany, Garrett, and
          (E) In Mississippi, the counties of Alcorn, Benton, Calhoun,
        Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, Itawamba, Kemper, Lee, Lowndes,
        Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Noxubee, Oktibbeha, Panola,
        Pontotoc, Prentiss, Tippah, Tishomingo, Union, Webster,
        Winston, and Yalobusha.
          (F) In New York, the counties of Allegany, Broome,
        Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware,
        Otsego, Schoharie, Schuyler, Steuben, Tioga, and Tompkins.
          (G) In North Carolina, the counties of Alexander, Alleghany,
        Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Burke, Caldwell, Cherokee, Clay, Davie,
        Forsyth, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, McDowell, Macon,
        Madison, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Stokes, Surry, Swain,
        Transylvania, Watauga, Wilkes, Yadkin, and Yancey.
          (H) In Ohio, the counties of Adams, Ashtabula, Athens,
        Belmont, Brown, Carroll, Clermont, Columbiana, Coshocton,
        Gallia, Guernsey, Harrison, Highland, Hocking, Holmes, Jackson,
        Jefferson, Lawrence, Mahoning, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan,
        Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pike, Ross, Scioto, Trumbull,
        Tuscarawas, Vinton, and Washington.
          (I) In Pennsylvania, the counties of Allegheny, Armstrong,
        Beaver, Bedford, Blair, Bradford, Butler, Cambria, Cameron,
        Carbon, Centre, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Columbia,
        Crawford, Elk, Erie, Fayette, Forest, Fulton, Greene,
        Huntingdon, Indiana, Jefferson, Juniata, Lackawanna, Lawrence,
        Luzerne, Lycoming, McKean, Mercer, Mifflin, Monroe, Montour,
        Northumberland, Perry, Pike, Potter, Schuylkill, Snyder,
        Somerset, Sullivan, Susquehanna, Tioga, Union, Venango, Warren,
        Washington, Wayne, Westmoreland, and Wyoming.
          (J) In South Carolina, the counties of Anderson, Cherokee,
        Greenville, Oconee, Pickens, and Spartanburg.
          (K) In Tennessee, the counties of Anderson, Bledsoe, Blount,
        Bradley, Campbell, Cannon, Carter, Claiborne, Clay, Cocke,
        Coffee, Cumberland, De Kalb, Fentress, Franklin, Grainger,
        Greene, Grundy, Hamblen, Hamilton, Hancock, Hawkins, Jackson,
        Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Lawrence, Lewis, Loudon, McMinn,
        Macon, Marion, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Overton, Pickett, Polk,
        Putnam, Rhea, Roane, Scott, Sequatchie, Sevier, Smith,
        Sullivan, Unicoi, Union, Van Buren, Warren, Washington, and
          (L) In Virginia, the counties of Alleghany, Bath, Bland,
        Botetourt, Buchanan, Carroll, Craig, Dickenson, Floyd, Giles,
        Grayson, Henry, Highland, Lee, Montgomery, Patrick, Pulaski,
        Rockbridge, Russell, Scott, Smyth, Tazewell, Washington, Wise,
        and Wythe.
          (M) All the counties of West Virginia.

        (2) Local development district. - The term "local development
      district" means any of the following entities for which the
      Governor of the State in which the entity is located, or the
      appropriate state officer, certifies to the Appalachian Regional
      Commission that the entity has a charter or authority that
      includes the economic development of counties or parts of
      counties or other political subdivisions within the region:
          (A) a nonprofit incorporated body organized or chartered
        under the law of the State in which it is located.
          (B) a nonprofit agency or instrumentality of a state or local
          (C) a nonprofit agency or instrumentality created through an
        interstate compact.
          (D) a nonprofit association or combination of bodies,
        agencies, and instrumentalities described in this paragraph.

      (b) Change in Definition. - The Commission may not propose or
    consider a recommendation for any change in the definition of the
    Appalachian region as set forth in this section without a prior
    resolution by the Committee on Environment and Public Works of the
    Senate or the Committee on Transportation and Infrastructure of the
    House of Representatives that directs a study of the change.